Mt Teneriffe – Si loop hike

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Activity Overview

One of the difficult hikes I have done. I had cycled for 24 miles the previous day and was actually scared about this hike. The last mile to Teneriffe summit covers 2000 feet. We summited four peaks – Teneriffe, Dixie, Blowhorn and Si. I ate a lot during this hike compared to others. Lost my sunglasses, probably during a bushwhack.

Something strange happened that day. It was a steep trail at one place and I was left behind due to my slow pace. I tried my best to follow trail and since it wasn’t a popular track I lost way. I panicked and started clapping. I made three claps. I heard a sound which was somewhere between a natural bird’s sound and a device sound. I thought my trek leader is signaling me. I clapped again and heard same sound. I kinda followed the sound and found the trail in some distance.

Afterwards I realized that it wasn’t my trek leader signaling me. It was in fact a bird. I felt so happy that in a way nature showed me the way and I was safe again.

Nikhil Navali

Categories: Outdoors, Seattle | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Mt Teneriffe – Si loop hike

  1. Pingback: Mt Si Summits | Life is an Adventure

Share your thoughts (Please include atleast your name while commenting)

Blog at WordPress.com.

